Cross Country Canada Names Under-23 and Junior World Championship Teams

January 17, 2012

Whistler, BC— Following the Haywood NorAm World Junior/U23 Trials at Whistler Olympic Park last weekend, Cross Country Canada named 16 athletes who will represent their country at the 2012 Junior and Under-23 World Championships in Erzurum, Turkey, February 19-26.

Geoffrey Richards, a member of the Callaghan Valley Training Centre, utilized his home turf advantage on Saturday, pushing through tough skate ski conditions to win the Junior Men's Teck sprint event and solidify his spot on the team that will travel to Turkey. Originally from the Blackjack club in Rossland, Richards was the only member of the fledgling CVTC to earn one of the 16 coveted spots.

Highlighting the national team going to Turkey are five athletes that hail from Whitehorse, marking the only region to have athletes place in each category and gender classification.

"This is a young but experienced group of athletes have made huge progress racing both domestically on the Haywood NorAm circuit and internationally," said Tom Holland, high-performance director, Cross Country Canada. "The talent pool of young crosscountry skiers continues to grow, and these athletes are well-prepared to achieve excellence in Turkey.

"It is clear through these results that Whitehorse is leading the country with strong grassroots Nordic ski programs," said Holland. "Whitehorse has a well-developed club with strong coaching and volunteer resources which are contributing immensely to the successful development of their athletes."

Five athletes will also represent Alberta – all in the under-23 class, four athletes are from Quebec, while one athlete skis out of British Columbia and one from Ontario.

The following is a complete list of Canada's 2012 Junior and Under-23 World Championship Teams:

Under-23 Team: Junior Team:

Dahria Beatty - Whitehorse Janelle Greer – Whitehorse

Anne-Marie Comeau – St-Ferréol-les-Neiges, Que.

Emilie Stewart-Jones – Chelsea, Que.

Raphael Couturier - Quebec Knute Johnsgarrd – Whitehorse Geoffrey Richards – Rossland, B.C. Alexis Turgeon – Gatineau, Que.

Emily Nishikawa - Whitehorse Heidi Widmer – Banff, Alta. Marlis Kromm - Calgary Annika Hicks – Canmore, Alta. Graeme Killick - Banff, Alta. Jesse Cockney - Calgary David Greer - Whitehorse Chris Hamilton - Thunder Bay, Ont. The Canadian Team travels to Turkey on February 11, 2012. -30-